Manassas-Bull Run Christmas Bird Count

2017 Christmas Bird Count

It’s time to sign up for the 36th Annual Manassas-Bull Run Christmas Bird Count!  Birders of all skill levels are needed in the field and as feeder watchers.

The count circle comprises Centreville and includes Manassas Battlefield, parts of Bull Run Regional Park, undeveloped areas south of Dulles Airport, as well as many stream valley parks and locations from Clifton to west of Fairfax City.   

A FREE hot lunch will be served to participants.

If you haven’t heard from your sector leader or have any questions, contact Bob Shipman 

 Sign up using the“Register” button below.

 

Other Area Bird Counts

The following compilation was provided by the Northern Virginia Bird Club.

Thursday, December 14, 2017

BROOKE, VA (Stafford area, lower Potomac)

Contact coordinators and compiler, Laurel Bybell atlbybell@gmail.com or David Govoni at david.govoni@gmail.com.

 

Saturday, December 16, 2017

WASHINGTON D.C.

Includes area of Virginia inside the Beltway and parts of Fairfax County south of Alexandria to include Dyke Marsh. To participate, email compiler, Larry Cartwright: prowarbler@verizon.net or contact the Audubon Naturalist Society through Carol Hayes at carol.hayes@anshome.org or call 301-652-9188 extension 10.

 

Sunday, December 17, 2017

SENECA MD/VA

Count has five Virginia sectors, ranging from Great Falls Park to the eastern corner of Loudoun County. To participate, email compiler Jim Nelson at kingfishers2@verizon.net.

THE PLAINS/AIRLIE

To participate, email compiler, Sue Garvin at Environmental Studies on the Piedmont, sgarvin@envstudies.org

 

Saturday, December 23, 2017

CALMES NECK

Parts of western Loudoun and eastern Clarke counties. The cutoff date to join up to participate is December 18. Contact compiler, Margaret Wester at margaretwester@hotmail.com

 NOKESVILLE

For more information or to register, contact Kim Hosen at 703-499-4954 or khosen@pwconserve.org.

 

Thursday, December 28, 2017

CENTRAL LOUDOUN

Sign up at www.loudounwildlife.org or contact compiler, Joe Coleman: 540-554-2542 or joecoleman@rstarmail.com.

 

Sunday, December 31, 2017

FORT BELVOIR

Contact compiler, Kurt Gaskill at kurtcapt87@verizon.net or 703-768-2172.

SUGARLOAF MOUNTAIN

Lucketts Sector is in northern Loudoun County. To participate contact sector leader, Gerco Hoogeweg: at drgerco@hotmail.com

WALKERTON

Count area is primarily in Middle Peninsula. Contact by December 16. Contact compiler, Fred Atwood at fredatwood@yahoo.com.