Christmas Bird Counts in Northern Virginia

This was originally published in the Siskin, the newsletter of the Northern Virginia Bird Club

December

 

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

•      BROOKE, VA (Stafford area, lower Potomac)

Contact coordinator and compiler, Odette James at o.b.james@verizon.net.

 

Saturday, December 17, 2016

•      WASHINGTON D.C.

Includes area of Virginia inside the Beltway along with Dyke Marsh. To participate, email compiler, Larry Cartwright: prowarbler@verizon.net or contact the Audubon Naturalist Society through Carol Hayes at carol.hayes@anshome.org or call 301-652-9188 extension 10.

 

Sunday, December 18, 2016

•      MANASSAS-BULL RUN

To participate, contact Bob Shipman at ships333@yahoo.com; or register onlineat www.audubonva.org/christmas-bird-count/.

 

•      SENECA MD/VA

Count has five Virginia sectors, ranging from Great Falls Park to the eastern corner of Loudoun County. To participate, email compiler Jim Nelson at kingfishers2@verizon.net.

 

•      THE PLAINS/AIRLIE

To participate, email compiler, Sue Garvin at Environmental Studies on the Piedmont, sgarvin@envstudies.org

 

Monday, December 26, 2016

•      NOKESVILLE

For more information or to register, contact Kim Hosen at 703-499-4954 or khosen@pwconserve.org.

 

Wednesday, December 28, 2016

•      CENTRAL LOUDOUN

Sign up at www.loudounwildlife.org or contact compiler, Joe Coleman: 540-554-2542 or joecoleman@rstarmail.com.

 

January

 

Sunday, January 1, 2017

•      WALKERTON

Count area is primarily in Middle Peninsula. Contact by December 16. Contact compiler, Fred Atwood at fredatwood@yahoo.com.

 

Monday, January 2, 2017

•      CALMES NECK

Parts of western Loudoun and eastern Clarke counties. The cutoff date to join up to participate is December 21. Contact compiler, Margaret Wester at margaretwester@hotmail.com

 

•      FORT BELVOIR

Contact interim compiler, Phil Silas at 703-590-7286 or epsdcv@aol.com

 

•      SUGARLOAF MOUNTAIN

Lucketts Sector is in northern Loudoun County. To participate contact sector leader, Gerco Hoogeweg: at drgerco@hotmail.com.